A Guide to Major Golf Championships

Most major golf championships are organised by the ruling authorities of golf such as The R&A that is responsible for the entire world with the exception of the United States and Mexico where that role is held by the United States Golf Association (USGA). The two ruling authorities, however, cooperate when it comes to the Rules of Golf, national handicap system for golf players and some other issues.

Major Golf Championships that are Organised by The R&A


The R&A is responsible for organisation of 11 major championships and international golf events:

Major Golf Championships Organised by the USGA


The USGA organises a number of major golf championships on both national and international level including:

Professional Golf Tours

In addition to championships that are organised by The R&A and the USGA, there are also professional tour championships that are organised by independent tour organisations such as the PGA Tour, the LPGA Tour, the European Tour and the Ladies European Tour, to mention only a few: